CyberGumshoe's Mumblings in September/October 2019

M.W. Craven Wins Dagger

The Crime Writers' Association of Britain (CWA) has announced the winners for the 2019 Dagger Awards as follows:

CWA Gold Dagger: THE PUPPET, by M.W. Craven (Constable)
CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger: SCRUBLANDS, by Chris Hammer (Wildfire)
CWA Gold Dagger for Non-fiction: THE SPY AND THE TRAITOR, by Ben Macintyre (Viking)
CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: TO THE LIONS, by Holly Watt (Bloomsbury)
CWA International Dagger: A LONG NIGHT IN PARIS, by Dov Alfon; translated by Daniella Zamir (MacLehose Press)
CWA Historical Dagger: DESTROYING ANGEL, by S.G. MacLean (Quercus)
CWA Short Story Dagger: "The Dummies' Guide to Serial Killing," by Danuta Reah (in THE DUMMIES' GUIDE TO SERIAL KILLING AND OTHER FANTASTIC FEMALE FABLES, by Danuta Reah [aka Danuta Kot]; Fantastic)
Dagger in the Library: Kate Ellis
Debut Dagger (by an uncontracted writer): WAKE, by Shelley Burr
Best Crime and Mystery Publisher of the Year: No Exit Press (Oldcastle Books)
Diamond Dagger Recipient: Robert Goddard

(October 26, 2019)

Attica Locke Wins Texas Writer Book Award

The Texas Book Festival has announced that Attica Locke wins the 2019 Texas Writer Award. Locke will receive the award on October 26 in the House Chamber in Austen, Texas. (October 11, 2019)

Ian Rankin Wins Amazon Readers Award

The 2019 Amazon Publishing Readers' Awards were announced on September 28 during the inaugural Capital Crime festival held in London, UK as follows:

Best Crime Novel of the Year: IN A HOUSE OF LIES, by Ian Rankin (Orion)
Best Mystery: IN A HOUSE OF LIES, by Ian Rankin (Orion)
Best Thriller: LONDON RULES, by Mick Herron (John Murray)
Best Debut Novel: MY SISTER, THE SERIAL KILLER, by Oyinkan Braithwaites (Atlantic)
Best E-Book: SLEEP, by C.L. Taylor (HarperCollins)
Best Independent Voice: RED SNOW, by Will Dean (Point Blank)
Best Audiobook: THE SEVEN DEATHS OF EVELYN HARDCASTLE, by Stuart Turton, read by Jot Davies (Audible Studio for Bloomsbury)
Best Television Show: Killing Eve
Best Feature Film: BlacKKKlansman

(October 03, 2019)

Jonathan Lethem Win TJ Parker

The Southern California Independent Booksellers Association (SCIBA) has announced the winners for the its 2019 book awards at annual trade show in San Gabriel on September 28. The winner in the suspense/mystery category (known as the T. Jefferson Parker Mystery Award) is THE FERAL DETECTIVE, by Jonathan Lethem (Ecco, 2018).

Incidentally, the financially-strapped SCIBA will dissolve at the end of 2019, with ongoing talks with the Northern California Independent Booksellers Association (NCIBA) about forming a new, all-California booksellers association. I didn't know the NCIBA presents its own awards (Golden Poppy Book Awards) every spring. It gave Martin Cruz Smith the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award, and THROUGH THE BOOKSTORE WINDOW, by Bill Petrocelli (Rare Bird Books, 2018) the 2019 Martin Cruz Smith Award in Suspense/Mystery category this spring. (October 01, 2019; Revised, October 02)

Sol Stein Dies

Sol Stein died from complications of dementia on September 19 at his home in Tarry town, New York. He was a co-founder of the publishing house Stein and Day with his then-wife Patricia Day, publisher, editor-in-chief, playwright, and novelist. He worked as the editor of Elia Kazan, David Frost, Budd Shulberg, Marilyn Monroe, F. Lee Bailey and Jack Higgins among others, and wrote nine novels including the defense lawyer George Thomassy trilogy: THE MAGICIAN (Delacorte, 1971); OTHER PEOPLE (Harcourt Brace, 1979); and THE TOUCH OF TREASON (St. Martin's, 1985). He was 92. (September 27, 2019)

Manda Scott Wins McIlvanney

Bloody Scotland, Scotland's International Crime Writing Festival, has announced the winners for the 2019 McIlvanney Prize and the inaugularal Debut Prize as follows:

McIlvanny Prize: A TEACHERY OF SPIES, by Manda Scott (Bantam Press)
McIlvanny Debut Prize: Shortlist: ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS, by Claire Askew (Hodder)
The winners of the two prizes were announced on September 20 at the opening reception of Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival held in Stirling, United Kingdom. (September 21, 2019)

Fiona Kidman Wins Ngaio

The winners for the 2019 Ngaio Marsh AWards were announced on September 14 at the WORD Christchurch Festival held in Christchurch, New Zealand as follows:

Best Crime Novel: THIS MORTAL BOY, by Fiona Kidman (Penguin)
Best First Novel: CALL ME EVIE, by JP Pomare (Hachette)


(September 15, 2019)

Jane Harper Wins Neddie

The Austrarian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) announced the winners for the 2019 Ned Kelly Awards (aka. Neddies) on September 06 at BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival as follows:

Best Crime Fiction: THE LOST MAN, by Jane Harper (Pan Macmillan)
Best First Crime Fiction: THE RUIN, by Dervla McTiernan (HarperCollins)
Best True Crime Book: EGGSHELL SKULL, by Bri Lee (Allen & Unwin)

(September 07, 2019)

Megan Abbott, Sarah St. Vincent To Receive Pinckley Prizes

The Women's National Book Association of New Orleans (WNBA-NO) has announced that Megan Abbott and Sarah St. Vincent are the recipients of the 2019 Pinckley Prizes for Crime Fiction.

Meagan Abbott is the winner of the Pinckley Prize for Distinguished Body of Work, while Sarah St. Vincent is the winner of the Pinckley Prize for Debut Novel for WAYS TO HIDE IN WINTER (Melville House, 2018).

The Pinckley Prizes are named after Diana Pinckley, a founding member of WNBA-NO. The 2019 Pinckley Prizes will be presented October 10 at Louisiana Humanities Center in New Orleans, LA. (September 04, 2019)

Dervla McTiernan Wins Davitt

Sisters in Crime Australia presented Davitt Awardsfor best crime books by Australian women on August 31 as follows:
Best Adult Crime Novel: THE RUIN, by Dervla McTiernan (HarperCollins Australia)
Best Young Adult Crime Novel: SMALL SPACES, by Sarah Epstein (Walker Books)
Best Children's Crime Novel: WAKESTONE HALL, by Judith Rossell (ABC Books)
Best Non-fiction Crime Book: THE ARSONIST, by Chloe Hooper (Penguin Random House)
Best Debut Book: EGGSHELL SKULL, by Bri Lee (Allen & Unwin)
Readers' Choice: THE LOST MAN, by Jane Harper (Pan Macmillan Australia)

The Davitts were named after Ellen Davitt, the author of Australia's first mystery novel, FORCE AND FRAUD, published in 1865. (September 03, 2019)